The jury comprises leaders from the German business world. Together, they develop the contents of the guidelines and provide stimuli for the core issues “Diversity & People” and “Technology & Innovation”.

The jury is also responsible for personally selecting the members of the VORDENKER COMMUNITY. The jury stays in regular contact with the Vordenker via the panels and challenges. Sebastian Matthes and Carsten Kratz constitute the jury’s executive board.

DEPUTY CHIEF OFFICER / HEAD OF DIGITAL, Handelsblatt
Sebastian Matthes

Sebastian Matthes started off this year as Deputy Chief Officer and Head of Digital of Handelsblatt in Düsseldorf. Prior to that Matthes built up the German edition of Huffington Post in Munich. Before his change to HuffPost and switching cities, Matthes already had been working in Düsseldorf for five years – in the position of WirtschaftsWoche`s Head of Department. In this period he intensely kept himself busy with three main subjects: digitalization, media innovations and renewable energy. Matthes studied political science and economics in Hamburg. Afterwards he graduated from Georg-von-Holtzbrinck school for business journalists.

MANAGING DIRECTOR GERMANY, The Boston Consulting Group
Carsten Kratz

Carsten Kratz has been the spokesperson of The Boston Consulting Group’s management team for Germany and Austria since 2013. In this role, he is also a member of the European leadership team. Carsten Kratz studied industrial engineering with a focus on electrical engineering at TU Darmstadt. He joined BCG in 1990. In 2006, he was elected to the management team for Germany and Austria. From 2010 to 2012, he was a member of the European management team.

Carsten Kratz has worked with a variety of BCG clients worldwide in various industries, such as aerospace and industrial goods. His work focuses on topics such as strategy development, enhancing operational efficiency and organisational development.

Carsten Kratz performs voluntary work at a number of organisations. He is on the Supervisory Board of “Joblinge”, for example, which is an initiative to combat unemployment among young people. In addition, he is the vice president of the nature research society Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung, a member of the Staedel Committee, a member of the business initiative Wirtschaftsinitiative Frankfurt and he also serves on the Advisory Council of the Eintracht Frankfurt football club.

CEO, DOUGLAS GmbH
Tina Müller

Tina Müller has been CEO of Douglas GmbH since November 2017. She has more than 20 years of experience in the beauty industry and has held international executive positions at L’Oréal, Wella and Henkel before joining Opel in 2013 as Executive Board member for Marketing. Under her leadership, the company launched the award-winning campaign “Umparken im Kopf”. The repositioning of the brand as well as the associated portfolio measurements noticeably improved Opel’s image.
From the beauty industry to the automotive industry and back, from Chief Marketing Officer to CEO: Tina Müller is one of the few women in the German economy who, across industry borders, has made it to the very top. This background also shapes her most recent role: as Group CEO, she continues to develop the Douglas brand, making it more modern and digital, thanks to her #FORWARDBEAUTY strategy update.

MEMBER OF THE SUPERVISORY BOARD, KION GROUP
Dr. Christina Reuter

Since 2017, Dr. Christina Reuter is Head of Central Manufacturing Engineering and Operational Excellence at Space Equipment Operations of Airbus. Furthermore, Dr. Christina Reuter is member of the supervisory board of KION Group AG. Before joining Airbus, she was head of production management department at the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University. During this time, she built up a demonstration factory for Industrie 4.0 and she led various research and consulting projects with focus on production management and digital transformation. Dr. Christina Reuter studied industrial engineering with manufacturing engineering at RWTH Aachen University and Tsinhghua University in Beijing. She earned her PhD at the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University.

BOARD MEMBER (CFO), Vonovia SE
Helene von Roeder

Since May 2018 Helene von Roeder, born in 1970, has been member of the board and chief financial officer of Vonovia SE. Beforehand she has been managing director and chief executive officer of Credit Suisse for Germany, Austria and Central Europe since 2014. Before joining Credit Suisse, Ms von Roeder spent ten years at Morgan Stanley in Germany, where she was most recently responsible for the capital markets business in Germany and Austria as a member of the Management Board. She began her career at Deutsche Bank and UBS. Ms von Roeder possesses more than 20 years of experience in the capital markets business and has advised and assisted a large number of companies in doing business and completing transactions successfully. She studied astrophysics in Munich, Germany, and Cambridge, England.

PRESIDENT, Goethe University Frankfurt
Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wolff

After completing a bank apprenticeship, Birgitta Wolff (1965) studied Economics in Witten/Herdecke, at Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich, and at Harvard University. Following her postdoc in Munich, she taught at the School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University in Washington D.C. from 1999 to 2000. Afterwards, she was appointed Chair of Management with a focus on International Management at the Business and Economics Faculty of Otto von Guericke University in Magdeburg where she also served as Dean. In 2002, she spent a sabbatical at the Stanford Graduate School of Management. Periods as a guest professor took her to various countries in Eastern Europe as well as to Brazil and China. She has published works on personnel economics, company organisation, and international comparative studies. In 2010, she was named Minister of Education for the federal state of Saxony-Anhalt. From 2011 to 2013 she served as Saxony-Anhalt’s Minister of Science and Economics. She is President of Goethe University Frankfurt since January 2015.

Die Jury besteht aus führenden Köpfen der deutschen Wirtschaft. Sie entwickeln gemeinsam die inhaltlichen Leitlinien und geben Impulse für die Kernthemen „Diversity & People“ und „Technologie & Innovation“.

Zudem wählt sie persönlich die Mitglieder der VORDENKER-COMMUNITY aus und stehen über die Panels und Challenges mit ihnen in Kontakt. Den Vorstand der Jury bilden Sebastian Matthes und Carsten Kratz.

STV. DES CHEFREDAKTEURS / HEAD OF DIGITAL, Handelsblatt
Sebastian Matthes

Sebastian Matthes ist seit Anfang 2018 Stellvertreter des Chefredakteurs & Head of Digital beim Handelsblatt in Düsseldorf. Davor hat Matthes die deutsche Ausgabe der Huffington Post aufgebaut. Vor seinem Wechsel zur HuffPost nach München war Matthes schon einmal fünf Jahre in Düsseldorf – als Ressortleiter bei der WirtschaftsWoche. In dieser Zeit hat er sich intensiv mit der Digitalisierung, Medien-Innovationen und erneuerbaren Energien beschäftigt. Matthes hat Politologie und Volkswirtschaft in Hamburg studiert – und anschließend die Georg-von-Holtzbrinck-Schule für Wirtschaftsjournalisten absolviert.

DEUTSCHLANDCHEF, The Boston Consulting Group
Carsten Kratz

Carsten Kratz ist seit 2013 Sprecher der Geschäftsleitung der Boston Consulting Group für Deutschland und Österreich und in dieser Rolle auch Mitglied des europäischen Führungsteams. Carsten Kratz studierte an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit Schwerpunkt Elektrotechnik und begann seine Tätigkeit für BCG 1990. Im Jahr 2006 wurde er in die Geschäftsleitung für Deutschland und Österreich gewählt, von 2010 bis 2012 gehörte er zum europäischen Management-Team.

Carsten Kratz arbeitete weltweit schon für eine Vielzahl von BCG-Kunden aus verschiedenen Branchen wie Luftfahrt oder Industrie. Im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit stehen Themen wie Strategieentwicklung, operative Effizienzsteigerung und Organisationsentwicklung.

Carsten Kratz engagiert sich in zahlreichen Organisationen ehrenamtlich. So sitzt er im Aufsichtsrat von „Joblinge“, einer Initiative gegen Jugendarbeitslosigkeit. Er ist Vizepräsident der Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung, Mitglied des Staedel Komitees, der Wirtschafts-initiative Frankfurt und sitzt im Beirat des Fußballvereins Eintracht Frankfurt.

CEO UND VORSITZENDE DER GESCHÄFTSFÜHRUNG, DOUGLAS GMBH
Tina Müller

Tina Müller ist seit November 2017 CEO und Vorsitzende der Geschäftsführung der Douglas GmbH. Sie verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der Beauty-Branche und bekleidete internationale Führungspositionen bei L’Oréal, Wella und Henkel, ehe sie 2013 als Marketing-Vorstand zu Opel wechselte. Unter ihrer Leitung startete das Unternehmen die preisgekrönte Kampagne „Umparken im Kopf“. Die Neupositionierung und die damit einhergehende Portfolio-Offensive verbesserten das Image von Opel spürbar.
Aus der Beauty- in die Automobilbranche und zurück in die Beautybranche, vom Marketingvorstand zur CEO: damit ist Tina Müller eine der wenigen Frauen in der deutschen Wirtschaft, die es, über Branchengrenzen hinweg, nach ganz oben geschafft hat. Dieser Hintergrund prägt auch ihre jüngste Aufgabe: Als Group CEO entwickelt sie die Marke Douglas weiter, gestaltet sie moderner und digitaler, dank ihres Strategieupdates #FORWARDBEAUTY.

MITGLIED DES AUFSICHTSRATS, KION GROUP
Dr. Christina Reuter

Dr. Christina Reuter ist seit 2017 für Airbus im Bereich Space Equipment Operations als Head of Central Manufacturing Engineering and Operational Excellence tätig. Darüber hinaus ist Frau Dr. Reuter Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats der KION Group AG. Zuvor war sie Abteilungsleiterin für Produktionsmanagement am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen University, wo sie u.a. eine Demonstrationsfabrik für Industrie 4.0 mit aufbaute und diverse Forschungs- und Beratungsprojekte in diesem Themengebiet leitete. Dr. Christina Reuter hat an der RWTH Aachen und an der Tsinghua University in Peking Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit Schwerpunkt Maschinenbau studiert und anschließend am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen promoviert.

MITGLIED DES VORSTANDES (CFO), Vonovia SE
Helene von Roeder

Helene von Roeder, Jahrgang 1970, ist seit Mai 2018 als CFO im Vorstand der Vonovia SE. Zuvor verantwortete sie ab 2014 das Geschäft der Credit Suisse in Deutschland, Österreich und CEE, nachdem Frau von Roeder 10 Jahre bei Morgan Stanley in Deutschland tätig war. Dort zeichnete sie zuletzt als Vorstandsmitglied für das Kapitalmarktgeschäft in Deutschland und Österreich verantwortlich. Ihre Laufbahn begann sie bei der Deutschen Bank und UBS. Frau von Roeder verfügt über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Kapitalmarktgeschäft und hat eine Vielzahl von Unternehmen bei erfolgreichen Transaktionen beraten und begleitet. Sie studierte Astrophysik in München und Cambridge.

PRÄSIDENTIN, Goethe Universität Frankfurt
Prof. Birgitta Wolff

Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wolff, Jahrgang 1965, studierte nach einer Banklehre Wirtschaftswissenschaft in Witten/Herdecke, an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und der Harvard University. Nach der Habilitation in München lehrte sie 1999-2000 an der School of Foreign Service der Georgetown University in Washington D.C. 2000 übernahm sie den Lehrstuhl für BWL, insbes. Internationales Management an der Wirtschaftsfakultät der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg, deren Dekanin sie auch war. 2002 verbrachte sie ein Sabbatical an der Stanford Graduate School of Management. Gastprofessuren führten sie in verschiedene Länder u.a. Osteuropas, nach Brasilien und nach China. Sie veröffentlichte Schriften zur Personalökonomik, Unternehmensorganisation und international vergleichende Studien. 2010 wurde sie Kultusministerin des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt. Von 2011 bis 2013 war sie Landesministerin für Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt. Seit Januar 2015 ist sie Präsidentin der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt.